Cleveland Plain Dealer

Donald Rosenberg – March 10, 2008

“Bryant's piece, "Apostrophe," travels from dancing rhythmic events to lyrical episodes and back... Bryant deftly exploits the orchestra's ability to convey myriad moods through clear thematic materials and coloristic contrasts. The score has a rapturous quality, with a somber underpinning. Sunday's performance wasn't the epitome of precision, but the work introduced a promising composer."

Reading (PA) Eagle

Susan Pena – October 26, 2009

“The centerpiece of their program was a world premiere, commissioned by the quartet and the Friends of Chamber Music. The composer, Alexandra T. Bryant, another major talent, is the quartet's friend and fellow Cleveland Institute graduate, and she was present at the performance.

Her String Quartet No. 2, "The Still Point," is a seven-movement work inspired by T.S. Eliot's poem, "Burnt Norton," particularly the words, "Time present and time past/ Are both perhaps present in time future/ And time future contained in time past."

Each movement is a musical exploration of a concept of time. In the first movement, for instance, "Moves Perpetually in Its Stillness," pizzicatos explode over long, tense, almost whistling notes in an eerie representation of time before creation, according to the composer's program notes.

The melancholy "Time Past;" the changeable "Between Un-Being and Being," which featured an effect-filled solo by Shapiro as well as an intriguing duet by Luce and Richardson and Tavani's fragile solo, like dry sticks, over drones; "Time Present," like a factory gone mad; the delicate, quavering "Transient Beauty"; the percussive, rhythmic "Time Future" and the shimmering, emotionally satisfying "A White Light Still and Moving" - all of it made sense, and all of it was sensitively, lovingly performed."

I Care if You Listen (blog)

Andrew Lee – May 4, 2012

“[Lady Isabelle]... this piece is contemplative and a beautiful mixture of old and new.”